Joss Stick and Chocolate

I read in a book (that for the purposes of this blog I am pretending not to remember) that life was like a joss stick because it stinks and then it is over. A famous film (that likewise I am pretending not to remember) said that life was like a box of chocolates, you never know what you are gonna get.

Do I agree with the first one? Yes and no. It appeals in a nihilistic sense but while I agree with the sentiment, I wouldn’t have said it in quite that fashion.

Do I agree with the second. No. Most chocolate boxes have guides which tells you precisely what you are “gonna get”. Yes, I know what you are thinking. I must be a delight when watching a film with friends, right?

I am not sure that I can ever be happy. Not while I am where I am in life.

Life is like being buried alive, you scrabble at the lid but all you get is pain and then death.

Or…

Life is like a banana milkshake, no matter how hard you suck you’ll never get to the end…

Ah, perhaps not. I like banana milkshakes. I don’t like life.

It is a pity that we cannot get a refund on life. It would be nice.

About greebohobbes

All-round irritant, expert swordsman (loves lopping off the heads of ghouls), professional charlatan and outrageous wearer of black cocktail dresses...
This entry was posted in BekHobbes, depression, existence, hope/despair, opinion, reallife, sorrow. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

