Hobbes Vs Food

I don’t like food.

I don’t like alcohol either. Although some of it is very nice indeed.

But this blog is about food and the dislike of alcohol is not as unusual as an dislike of food.

My reason for the dislike is down to how foodstuff is depicted. In commercials or even from descriptions given to it by friends, chefs, raggedy beggars etc. Food is always portrayed as being delicious, gorgeous, sumptuous, like heaven for tastebuds but it isn’t, it really ain’t all that special.

Food tastes good but it is nothing to write home about. It just is what it is.

A few years ago, there was a commercial for this type of spreadable posh cheese. A man eats a piece of bread that has been slathered with cheese. This is followed by a quick montage of scenes such as kissing, explosions, falling and whatnot. The advert is trying to tell us that this cheese is pretty damn remarkable. I tasted it. It was alright. I failed to fall on the ground in a state of rapture.

So are they lying to us? No. Just exaggerating the sensations of the food products. Poetic licence. Fibbing.

As it is, I barely eat. If you saw me, this would surprise you. In all seriousness though, I could live without eating if I could. I am simply not all that fussed about it.

I guess this is why some people seem to think that I am finicky. I can’t stand all fish (when fish start getting out of the sea to defecate, then I will eat them), or lamb or beef. Parsnips, quite frankly, cause nightmares in me. Cake, I largely ignore.

There are some foodstuff that I do eat with a little pleasure but they are still a little ‘meh’ in my opinion.

About greebohobbes

All-round irritant, expert swordsman (loves lopping off the heads of ghouls), professional charlatan and outrageous wearer of black cocktail dresses...
This entry was posted in BekHobbes, food, opinion, reallife. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

