Five for Fishes

I was preparing to get off the bus yesterday when an elderly woman mumbled something incoherently at me.

Being polite, I asked what she was talking about.

She pointed at something underneath one of the seats. I looked and found what she was pointing at. A five pence coin. I picked it up and handed it to her, thinking that she had dropped it, but she waves her hands at me. “I don’t want it,” she says like I have just tried to hand her a poisonous snake. “You keep it for luck.”

Suffice to say, I was underwhelmed by this.

Getting off the bus, I wondered why she felt it so necessary that I should know of this coin. Silly old bat, I thought.

A few meters from the bus stop, I threw the five pence piece into the river.

Let the fishes have my luck.

About greebohobbes

All-round irritant, expert swordsman (loves lopping off the heads of ghouls), professional charlatan and outrageous wearer of black cocktail dresses...
This entry was posted in BekHobbes, bus, humanity, opinion, reallife. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

