Blog Writing Blog

Some people think you need a point or something to say in order to write a blog but this is not so.

Don’t believe me? Read my other blogs… Yeah, this is what is referred to as self-deprecation. I think.

Anyhow, you don’t need a point when you write a blog. All you need to do is simply write. Really. It is that easy. Anything that you write will always reveal something of yourself to other people. And that is what interests people.

The key thing is to be brutally honest about what you write. From the truth comes great writing.

I won’t say that I am a great writer but I do write what I want. If other people like it, great. If not, then that is great too although I will be cursing you if you tell me you don’t like what I write. But I try my best. Yes, I know, amazing, isn’t it?

The other key thing is to write for yourself. If you try to cater for other people’s tastes, then your writing will suffer if, like me, you aren’t all that good at it.

It doesn’t matter on the quality of your writing as long as you are truthful. People like honesty. They also like well-crafted sentences but if your blog is entertaining, then they will sometimes ignore the quality. Which isn’t to say that you should hone your abilities but just don’t worry too much about it. Just write.

When you have finished writing. Put it away. Leave it for a week or two, a month maybe. Then take it out and reread it. Distance gives perspective. This is what I do. I also post blogs without doing much proofreading too but that is only because I am impulsive and I want to show people my thoughts as I think them.

Just write. Then share it. If you feel bad when people say bad things, then disallow comments. Simple as.

About greebohobbes

All-round irritant, expert swordsman (loves lopping off the heads of ghouls), professional charlatan and outrageous wearer of black cocktail dresses...
This entry was posted in BekHobbes, blogging, blogs, opinion, tips, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

