The Last Pratchett

Today I went to Waterstones and purchased the last Terry Pratchett book, The Shepherd’s Crown.

I might as well have gone there for a book with photographs of dead kittens.

It is odd. This book will be great (he always is/was) but his death and the fact that this is the LAST book will unfortunately overcast the book. No matter if it is good or bad, I will be thinking that with each page I turn, there is less ‘new’ Pratchett to read.

I remember when Unseen Academicals came out. He had come out as having Alzheimer’s Disease and even that coloured the book negatively for me. I am not sure if it was this book or a later one where he mentions having to have somebody type up his words for him but that played a major factor too.

This morning they discussed the new book and I was in tears throughout.

My hero has died yet he continues to haunt me.

I don’t even know if I will read the book. All I know is that the first reading will be a slog just to get through. Or maybe it will easy to read as usual. I don’t know.

About greebohobbes

All-round irritant, expert swordsman (loves lopping off the heads of ghouls), professional charlatan and outrageous wearer of black cocktail dresses...
This entry was posted in BekHobbes, fandom, loss, opinion, reallife, terrypratchett and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

