Glad To Be Unhappy

Being rejected is an awful experience. Unrequited love is worse.

The two are subjective, of course, but the pain you feel is the same. As if someone was clenching your heart between their ice-cold talons. Such fun!

What you must remember though is that the other person isn’t being cruel. They are being honest with you. They are saving you from even worse pain down the line.

I could say more but I think the song below says it much better than I can. Plus, if you find a copy of it, it sounds better when you sing it to music.

The Mamas & the Papas ~ Glad To Be Unhappy

Fools rush in, so here I am
Awfully glad to be unhappy.
I can’t win, but here I am
More than glad to be unhappy.

Unrequited love’s a bore, yeah,
And I’ve got it pretty bad.
But for someone you adore,
It’s a pleasure to be sad.

Like a straying baby lamb
With no mama and no papa,
I’m so unhappy, yeah.

Unrequited love’s a bore, yeah,
And I’ve got it pretty bad.
But for someone you adore,
It’s a pleasure to be sad.

Like a straying baby lamb
With no mama and no papa,
I’m so unhappy, yeah…

But oh so glad

After a break-up in the late 90s, I played their song, California Dreamin’ over and over again. I recorded the song onto cassette tape (ask your parents, kids) and played it on an endless loop.

Sigh…

As long as you remember that you are not the only person to have their heart torn out by the wolves of rejection, you should eventually get over it.

But while you are sad, enjoy the misery of your emotions. Because when someone falls in love with you, and they will, those feelings will feel cheap compared to the love you are now feeling,

About greebohobbes

All-round irritant, expert swordsman (loves lopping off the heads of ghouls), professional charlatan and outrageous wearer of black cocktail dresses...
This entry was posted in BekHobbes, love, opinion, reallife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

