Poem of Loss

I never had a chance to tell you that I love you
Or to hold you to my chest
To watch you sleep
And as you sleep think ‘I made that’
I will never watch you grow
Never to see you laugh or cry
Always I would have been there for you
But now my decision is made
Your heartbeat
Your breath
Your laughter
These things I miss even though they never existed
I wish that I could be there for you
To be proud of you
To let you know that I cared
And forgave
God knows, how much I wanted you
But now I have made my decision
It is better for the two of us
If you never were
A creation made from dreams and fraility
You would have been the pinnacle
You would have been my jewel
But still I do not regret losing you
Not that the memory of you is neglected
But it comes down to choices
And mine was imposed
So forgive me please
Daughter
I love you
I adore you
You are my baby
But I do not care (I lie)
I do not want you (I lie)
It is better for the two of us (I lie)
I have made the right choice (I tell the truth)
It may seem that I am bittersweet
And that is correct, I am
Though I would have been there
I cannot be there now or ever
So forgive me
Come to someone else
I love you
But I cannot be…

About greebohobbes

All-round irritant, expert swordsman (loves lopping off the heads of ghouls), professional charlatan and outrageous wearer of black cocktail dresses...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poem of Loss

Leave a Reply

