Doctor Who: Last Christmas unreviewed (spoilers)

This Christmas the Doctor and Clara caught crabs.

Oh, and Danny is still dead.

What can I say about this episode which hasn’t been better said elsewhere? I consider it one of, if not, the best Christmas special ever. Yes, it was really that good.

I won’t go into any of the details but there were some lovely touches in the episode which I just have to share.

Such as…

  1. When the Doctor helps the elderly Clara to pull a Christmas cracker, returning the favour she did for the Eleventh Doctor in The Time of the Doctor when he was similarly too weak to pull it open himself.
  2. The Doctor asking for a two-digit page number, and “to make it a good one.” Clara gives the Doctor the number “12”, a reference to this Doctor being the twelfth incarnation.

With most of the series, I have to watch at least twice before I can discover my true feelings towards each episode but Last Christmas was one of the few which I loved upon the first viewing. Maybe it was the whole The Mind Robber-ish is-it-or-isn’t-it-real that I enjoyed? Whatever. It was just a wonderful episode to watch and a sheer joy from beginning to end.

I, for one, am glad that the Doctor/Clara team will continue into 2015. I just hope Danny Pink will somehow return.

About greebohobbes

All-round irritant, expert swordsman (loves lopping off the heads of ghouls), professional charlatan and outrageous wearer of black cocktail dresses...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

